Quantcast

Saturday, May 3, 2014

Mailboxes, Shelves, and What I'm Reading

Stacking The Shelves and Mailbox Monday are a pair of weekly memes that are about sharing the books that came your way over the past week, and which you've added to your shelves - whether they be physical or virtual, borrowed or bought, or for pleasure or review.

With a towering review pile before me I've (almost) managed the resist the allure of new review titles this week, but I've been deluged with indie requests, and there were a few I just couldn't resist:

From a Killer's Mind by Jason Helford
Published July 29th 2013

"Fans of Thomas Harris' The Silence of the Lambs and Shane Stevens' By Reason of Insanity may find a new favorite author here."
-Kirkus Reviews

John has been a successful serial killer for his entire adult life, committed to his craft without detection or disruption. He’s spent years perfecting his process and meticulously planning out each kill, honing his abilities to horrible heights; however, when one kill doesn’t go as planned, his confidence is shattered, and his dark life starts down an even darker road, to either his salvation…or his ultimate downfall. John finds his private sanctum infiltrated by chaotic characters from the most unlikely of places, putting him through an existential crisis of the soul. As John loses control, his true crucible begins.

From a Killer’s Mind, the debut novel of writer Jason Helford, is a mind-bending, scary, and emotionally honest trip through the life of a serial killer, laying bare the killer’s soul for all readers to see. The remarkable twist at the core of this novel is something that will leave you open-mouthed, shocked, and completely hooked, until the very last page.


We are Wormwood by Autumn Christian
Published July 30th 2013

Ever since she was a child, Lily has been pursued by a demonic girl with wormwood eyes.

As Lily struggles with her schizophrenic mother’s decline into insanity, the death of her somnambulist childhood love, and her own painful, disturbed adolescence, she must face the strange girl that haunts her.

Yet something is chasing her that is much more dangerous.

A darkly surreal, drug-coated romance, We are Wormwood tells an inhuman love story, and the transformation that results from affection among monsters.


Bred to Rule: The Incident by Tim Bearden
Published April 15th 2014 by Role Models of Mediokrity Publishing

Wallace “Max” Maxwell always wanted to be a detective. His hard work finally pays off when he and his partner, James Williams, are promoted and assigned to a special investigation. Datacoins CEOs are in potential mortal danger and he along with his partner get teamed up with the FBI to investigate. Max gets cocky and tracks down a suspect on his own, which puts our hero at terrible risk leading to a “super” life changing event for Max.



Soul of Fire by Caris McRae
Published February 1st 2014

"You can’t run from your demons, Sheba An-Pyr. There will come a time to take a stance and confront them, regardless of the consequences. Even at the cost of your life. You can’t escape your destiny forever, Child. There is a time in everyone’s life when they need to rise to the challenge, to be courageous when faced with defeat – and yours is now."

In Quiliaris, strength and power are revered. Sheba An-Pyr, Princess of Fire, has neither. Neglected by her family, shunned by her people, and a murderer on her heels, she lives her life in the shadows. Trying her best to keep a low profile, she travels the lands with her Hashisin uncle as his servant, but when he is summoned to his Warrior Guild's quadrennial tryouts, things begin to change. A twist of fate allows her to partake in the trials, and with every challenge she masters, she discovers more of who she is and where her destiny lies.

An age-old prophecy, scheming Gods, cantankerous beasts, and chauvinistic Warriors - Soul of Fire has it all. Follow the Princess of Fire as she breaks free from the chains of her past and becomes the Warrior, the Hashisin, she is meant to be.

Because without her, Quiliaris might very well be lost.


The Darkness Within: Final Cut by Sam Stone
Published February 4th 2014 by Telos Publishing Limited

ZOMBIES ON A SPACESHIP! Chief Engineer Madison Whitehawk suspects foul play when a series of small anomalies occur aboard the ark ship Freedom. But Madison's fears are nothing compared to the impending disaster heading their way. As the team of scientists, engineers and crew take their precious colonist cargo towards New Earth a deadly parasite has found its way onboard. Soon Madison, Second Officer Crichton and colonist Syra Connor are fighting for their life's against trusted friends and former lovers. What is the parasite that changes the minds and behaviour of those it infects? And how can the crew of the Freedom destroy the darkness within?


He Who Shall Remain Shameless by David Ewald
Published (first published June 15th 2011)

Do you know of Harriet Quimby? Christine Chubbuck? Christopher Coe? What about King Aegeus? Andrew Kehoe? Linda Gary? Leo Ryan? These are just some of the spirits our hero and narrator David Michael Ewald (not the author of this book) encounters as he travels the world trying to convince those who died long ago and those who died more recently that their salvation lies with the Internet. Will these ghosts of the semi-famous, the would-be famous, and the almost-forgotten accept his help and become part of the social-networking new world, or will the Meritocrat, our hero and narrator's unruly, unwieldy, nebulous archnemesis triumph instead? Find out in He Who Shall Remain Shameless, a paranormal adventure novel comprised of fourteen linked stories by David Ewald.

αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is another weekly meme, this time focused on what books are spending the most time in your hands and in your head, as opposed to what's been added to your shelf.

With an eye towards my scheduled reviews for the next few weeks, I'm currently turning pages with:

Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson
A good, solid fantasy, pretty much what I was hoping for, and flowing much better with the hardcover in front of me.

• The Hydra Protocol by David Wellington
I enjoyed the first few Jim Chapel adventures, but I really like that Wellington is further shifting things from monsters to a science-based thriller.

Deadlock by Tim Curran
DarkFuse and Tim Curran never disappoint, and a ship haunted by a history of suicide, violence, mutiny and murder sounds like fun.

What's topping your shelves this week?

11 comments:

  1. Salvation lies with the Internet - that is both ironic and funny.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Nice haul! These are all new to me but I hope you enjoy them all!

    My STS will be up tomorrow so be sure to stop by then!

    Have a GREAT weekend!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nice haul, don't know any of these, but I hope you enjoy them! :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooo..From a Killers Mind sounds cool Off to add it to my TBR list. I hope you enjoy them all!

    Mary
    My STS

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Darkness Within... The Walking Dead mixed in with Across the Universe? Count me in. You had me at parasite. I love a good dark sci-fi and this sounds perfect. Thanks for sharing, heading to add it to my list now. Happy reading :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh I confess they're all new to me this week but I hope you'll like them all. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  7. A really nice haul here! Hope you enjoy them all :)

    Here's my Showcase Sunday

    I'm hosting a Mental Health Awareness Month in June too! If you'd like to find out more or join in that would be great :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've been meaning to read a book by Tim Curran, the one you mentioned sounds great :)

    Here's my It's Monday! Post
    -Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

    ReplyDelete
  9. I don't know many of these, but We Are Wormwood is intriguing. Enjoy them My STS

    ReplyDelete
  10. Soul on Fire looks interesting. Sorry for the VERY late stop. Hope you have been enjoying all these!

    ReplyDelete